Tenant Clubs

Marvel Stadium hosts a range of sports and is proud to be home to five AFL clubs Essendon, Carlton, North Melbourne, St Kilda and the Western Bulldogs and Big Bash League side the Melbourne Renegades.


Essendon was the first AFL club to announce it would play home games at the venue now known as Marvel Stadium. The anchor tenant, coached by Kevin Sheedy, won the first AFL Premiership match at the stadium on March 9, 2000, beating Port Adelaide by 94 points. Its champion midfielder, Michael Long, kicked the first goal at the stadium. Led on the field by James Hird, the club lost just one match for the season and went on to win the 2000 Premiership in a record-breaking season. Essendon, alongside Carlton, is the game’s most successful club with 16 Premierships to its name.

Coach: Ben Rutten

Captain: Dyson Heppell

Premierships: (16) 1897, 1901, 1911, 1912, 1923, 1924, 1942, 1946, 1949, 1950, 1962, 1965, 1984, 1985, 1993, 2000

Brownlow Medalists: Dick Reynolds 1934, 37-38, Bill Hutchison 1952 (tied), 1953, Graham Moss 1976, Gavin Wanganeen 1993, James Hird 1996 (tied), Jobe Watson 2012.

300 game players: Simon Madden 378, Dick Reynolds 320, Tim Watson 307, Garry Foulds 300, Dustin Fletcher.

Norm Smith Medallists: Bill Duckworth 1984, Simon Madden 1985, Michael Long 1993, James Hird 2000

AFL Hall of Fame Legends: John Coleman, Bill Hutchison, Dick Reynolds


With 16 premierships to its credit, Carlton has historically been considered one of the game’s powerhouse clubs. Coach Brendon Bolton is ushering the club into a new era with exciting times ahead.

Coach: Michael Voss

Captain: Patrick Cripps

Premierships: (16) 1906, 1907, 1908, 1914, 1915, 1938, 1945, 1947, 1968, 1970, 1972, 1979, 1981, 1982, 1987, 1995

Brownlow Medalists: Bert Deacon 1947, John James 1961, Gordon Collis 1964, Greg Williams 1994, Chris Judd 2010

300 game players: Craig Bradley 375, Bruce Doull 365, John Nicholls 328, Stephen Silvagni 312, Justin Madden (Carlton/Essendon) 332

Norm Smith Medallists: Wayne Harmes 1979, Bruce Doull 1981, David Rhys-Jones 1987, Greg Williams 1995

AFL Hall of Fame Legends: Ron Barassi (Melbourne/Carlton/North Melbourne and Sydney Swans), John Nicholls, Alex Jesaulenko (Carlton/St Kilda).

Western Bulldogs

Season 2016 was the Western Bulldogs’ greatest in AFL history, rivalling its only other premiership year in 1954. In his second season as coach, Luke Beveridge became a legend of the club joining the late Charlie Sutton as the Western Bulldogs and Footscray’s only premiership coaches. After the Bulldogs’ victory over the Sydney Swans on Grand Final day before almost 100,000 fans, they become just the second Marvel Stadium partner club to win the premiership after Essendon’s 2000 success in the Stadium’s first year of operation. The Western Bulldogs have been a tenant club at Marvel Stadium since the venue’s opening and have always been supported ‘under the roof’ by a loyal band of supporters. Led by Beveridge and popular captain Easton Wood, the Dogs look forward to even more success in the coming years.

Coach: Luke Beveridge

Captain: Marcus Bontempelli

Premierships: (2) 1954 and 2016

Brownlow Medallists: Allan Hopkins (tied) 1930, Norm Ware 1931, Peter Box 1956, John Schultz 1960, Gary Dempsey 1975, Kelvin Templeton 1980, Brad Hardie 1985, Tony Liberatore 1990, Scott Wynd 1992, Adam Cooney 2008

300 game players: Brad Johnson 349, Chris Grant 341, Doug Hawkins 329, Scott West 324, Ted Whitten snr 321

Norm Smith Medallists: Jason Johannisen

AFL Hall of Fame Legends: Ted Whitten

St Kilda

St Kilda moved its home games to the venue in 2000. While failing by the narrowest of margins in recent years to add to its 1966 Premiership win, St Kilda has enjoyed great success at Marvel Stadium. In 2009 the Saints enjoyed a record breaking season, winning 20 of 22 matches, including 13 wins at Marvel Stadium. St Kilda also set a new AFL attendance record for Marvel Stadium in Round 14 2009, attracting 54,444 fans to a showdown against Geelong. Lenny Hayes holds the record for most games played at the venue and its champion captain Nick Riewoldt is Marvel Stadium’s leading goal kicker.

Coach: Brett Ratten

Captain: Jack Steeele

Premierships: (1) 1966

Brownlow Medallists: Colin Watson 1925, Brian Gleeson 1957, Neil Roberts 1958, Ian Stewart 1965-66, Ross Smith 1967, Tony Lockett (tied) 1987, Robert Harvey 1997-98.

300 game players: Robert Harvey 383, Nathan Burke 323, Stewart Loewe 321, Barry Breen 300

Norm Smith Medallists: Lenny Hayes 2010 (Grand Final 1)

AFL Hall of Fame Legends: Darrel Baldock, Roy Cazaly (St Kilda/South Melbourne), Ian Stewart (St Kilda/Richmond)

North Melbourne

North Melbourne became a tenant at Marvel Stadium in 2000. The Kangaroos have been a part of some significant moments at the stadium, none more poignant than Jason McCartney’s return to AFL ranks on June 6 2003, after suffering horrific burns as a result of the Bali Bombings. The Kangaroos under the leadership of Denis Pagan and Wayne Carey were a powerhouse during the 1990s and are once again striving to head to the top of the AFL ladder.

Coach: Alastair Clarkson

Captain: Jack Ziebell

Premierships: (4) 1975, 1977, 1996, 1999

Brownlow Medallists: Noel Teasdale (tied) 1965, Keith Greig 1973, 1974, Malcolm Blight 1978, Ross Glendinning 1983

300 game players: Glenn Archer 311, Wayne Schimmelbusch 306, Brent Harvey 432

Norm Smith Medallists: Glenn Archer 1996, Shannon Grant 1999

AFL Hall of Fame Legends: Barry Cable

Melbourne Renegades

2018/19 was the Melbourne Renegades greatest season with their first BBL title won in season 8, defeated their arch rivals Melbourne Star at the Marvel Stadium. The Renegades is Marvel Stadium’s Big Bash League tenant club. Established in 2011, the Renegades have developed into one of the league’s most competitive teams. In 2014, the Melbourne derby between the Renegades and their cross town rival, the Melbourne Stars, attracted a venue record breaking attendance of 42,837 fans.

Coach: David Saker

Captain: Nic Maddinson

Minor Premiers: (1) 2012/13

Championship Titles: (1) 2018/19 (Season 8)